• The Chessmen of Mars (Barsoom #5)
    • Bookmark

    The Chessmen of Mars (Barsoom #5)

  • Read online List chapter
  • Content The Chessmen of Mars (Barsoom #5):

    Author: Edgar Rice Burroughs

    Barsoom series: #5

    Country: United States

    Language: English

    Genre: Science Fantasy novel

    Published: 1922

    Origin: Project Gutenberg

    Here, John Carter’s daughter Tara meets Prince Gahan of the Gathol kingdom, but takes an instant dislike to the young and fashionable man, feeling that he is just a shallow youth. However, when her vehicle breaks down in a lonely part of Barsoom and she is attacked by the ferocious Kaldanes, it takes all her wits to survive the encounter. Prince Gahan, who is actually a heroic superman in his own kingdom, but prefers to keep it a secret, arrives in time to help her. Together with one of the Kaldanes who proves to be different from his fellows, they escape only to get into an even more hazardous situation. They fall into the hands of another set of monsters whose native sport is a game resembling chess, which is played in an arena using live creatures!

    Edgar Rice Burroughs is best known for his Tarzan series, but few know that he was a multi-talented writer who penned books spanning several genres. Besides sci-fi, he wrote historical and romantic fiction, westerns and jungle adventures. A master of the pulp-fiction world which was so popular during the early 20th century, his work was lapped up by magazines like Argosy, The All-Story, etc. and had a great influence on many important writers.

    An exciting read for lovers of adventure, sci-fi and fantasy!

    Chapter Contents:

    Prelude – John Carter Comes to Earth
    I – Tara in a Tantrum
    II – At the Gale’s Mercy
    III – The Headless Humans
    IV – Captured
    V – The Perfect Brain
    VI – In the Toils of Horror
    VII – A Repellent Sight
    VIII – Close Work
    IX – Adrift Over Strange Regions
    X – Entrapped
    XI – The Choice of Tara
    XII – Ghek Plays Pranks
    XIII – A Desperate Deed
    XIV – At Ghek’s Command
    XV – The Old Man of the Pits
    XVI – Another Change of Name
    XVII – A Play to the Death
    XVIII – A Task for Loyalty
    XIX – The Menace of the Dead
    XX – The Charge of Cowardice
    XXI – A Risk for Love
    XXII – At the Moment of Marriage
    Martian Chess