• The Warlord of Mars (Barsoom #3)
    • Bookmark

    The Warlord of Mars (Barsoom #3)

  • Read online List chapter
  • Content The Warlord of Mars (Barsoom #3):

    Author: Edgar Rice Burroughs

    Barsoom series: #3

    Country: United States

    Language: English

    Genre: Science Fantasy novel

    Published: 1914

    Origin: Project Gutenberg

    The Barsoom series is based on the expedition of Earthmen to Mars by a mysterious method of transportation that involves astral projection. John Carter an American Civil War veteran travels to Mars, engages in fierce battles for supremacy with various denizens of the Red Planet and falls in love with and marries one of its lovely inhabitants. In Warlord of Mars, the hero, John Carter risks everything to rescue his wife, Princess Dejah Thoris, from the clutches of his evil adversaries, but he is always just one step behind! His battles cover the face of the red planet, as his quest carries him ultimately to the mysterious northern pole. Will this civilization, submerged in ice, prove fatal to our hero? This is the third of eleven in the popular ‘Martian’ series by Edgar Rice Burroughs.

    In the Barsoom series, Burroughs has created an entire fictional universe, complete with history, geography, politics, religion and people with their own set of values. He based much of his work on the scientific information available at the time and used it to create these fantasy worlds. For Sci-Fi fans, Warlord of Mars is indeed a gripping and entertaining read.

    Chapter contents:

    Chapter I: On the River Iss
    Chapter II: Under the Mountains
    Chapter III: The Temple of the Sun
    Chapter IV: The Secret Tower
    Chapter V: On the Kaolian Road
    Chapter VI: A Hero in Kaol
    Chapter VII: New Allies
    Chapter VIII: Through the Carrion Caves
    Chapter IX: With the Yellow Men
    Chapter X: In Durance
    Chapter XI: The Pity of Plenty
    Chapter XII: “Follow the Rope!”
    Chapter XIII: The Magnet Switch
    Chapter XIV: The Tide of Battle
    Chapter XV: Rewards
    Chapter XVI: The New Ruler