• Through the Looking-Glass
    • Bookmark

    Through the Looking-Glass

  • Read online List chapter
  • Content Through the Looking-Glass:

    Author: Lewis Carroll

    Country: United Kingdom

    Language: English

    Genre:  Classics / Children’s fiction

    Published: 1871

    In 1865, English author Charles Lutwidge Dodgson (1832-1898), aka Lewis Carroll, wrote a fantastical adventure story for the young daughters of a friend. The adventures of Alice—named for one of the little girls to whom the book was dedicated—who journeys down a rabbit hole and into a whimsical underworld realm instantly struck a chord with the British public, and then with readers around the world. In 1872, in reaction to the universal acclaim *Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland* received, Dodgson published this sequel. Nothing is quite what it seems once Alice journeys through the looking-glass, and Dodgson’s wit is infectious as he explores concepts of mirror imagery, time running backward, and strategies of chess-all wrapped up in the exploits of a spirited young girl who parries with the Red Queen, Tweedledee and Tweedledum, and other unlikely characters. In many ways, this sequel has had an even greater impact on today’s pop culture than the first book.


    CHAPTER I. Looking-Glass house
    CHAPTER II. The Garden of Live Flowers
    CHAPTER III. Looking-Glass Insects
    CHAPTER IV. Tweedledum And Tweedledee
    CHAPTER V. Wool and Water
    CHAPTER VI. Humpty Dumpty
    CHAPTER VII. The Lion and the Unicorn
    CHAPTER VIII. ‘It’s my own Invention’
    CHAPTER IX. Queen Alice
    CHAPTER X. Shaking
    CHAPTER XI. Waking
    CHAPTER XII. Which Dreamed it?